7 Wonders: Ancient Alien Makeover

7 Wonders: Ancient Alien Makeover

ss (2014-05-17 at 12.12.43)

Developed by MumboJumbo

 

7 Wonders is a game I’ve never heard of until I purchased this one in a bundle of casual MumboJumbo games. Yes, this is another casual game, but it’s one that I found pretty fun to play in short bursts and not one that I would write off if you want some good mindless fun. The closest thing I can compare this to is a game that I feel has a bad connotation and that is Candy Crush Saga. Think of this as a less scummy version of that game. It’s classic match 3 action with the purpose of destroying the background of the playing field. A lot of games have used this formula in the past, but I think Ancient Alien Makeover is one of the more engaging ones I have played in my lifetime.

Unfortunately, because this is the first in the series that I have played, I can’t give you the hard hitting comparisons that the casual enthusiast may want. From what I’ve read, this is the fifth game sequentially in the 7 Wonders series and I don’t know what parts of it have been in previous iterations and what improvements have been made, but I can at least speak for what I’ve played here. At the start of the game, you pick a difficulty going from Easy to Insane. I played on the default level of Normal and I must say that it pr0ved to be over the top easy on that setting. Changing the difficulty may affect your enjoyment of the game, so just choose whatever is most comfortable for you. You can change at any time, so my suggestion is to experiment with the options.

Ancient Alien Makeover  is a game about travelling around the globe in order to capture the wonders of the world. Each stage is comprised of as many levels as it takes as you collect pieces of the wonder and build it. Stages each have a grid layout and the goal is to match 3 of a single color and destroy the background of each square by swapping two pieces on the board. This can be done by destroying a block on top of it or by using a powerup that are granted by performing well and making larger matches throughout the level. Once all spaces are hit, a block spawns at the top that must drop to the bottom to complete the stage. Failure is only achieved if the timer on the right side runs out. It’s a real simple concept that is best understood by seeing the game in action, but it is also an addictive one.

Beyond the core gameplay, there is a lot hidden in this game on top of the basics. First of all, the game has a world map that is fully customizable using buildings you unlock and items you purchase via in game currency. No, this game doesn’t have microtransactions – all the coins you need to use are unlocked via the wonders you build and the achievements you unlock. Each country you visit has blueprints that can be found which allow you to build more buildings to put on your overworld map. It doesn’t seem like there’s much of a purpose to this other than for looks and bragging rights, but it’s a nice addition to the regular gameplay. Blueprints are found by matching certain color blocks over certain squares during normal gameplay. You also have a number of powerups that can be unlocked and used regularly on a panel on the left side of the screen. I found that these make the game a bit overly easy and I rarely ended up using them, but I’m sure on higher difficulties they become more of a necessity thanks to the fact that clearing out corner pieces in this style of the game is very difficult at times and comes down to a game of chance.

Graphically, the cartoon world of 7 Wonders is colorful and everything here is exactly what you’d expect out of a casual game. The sound effects feel satisfying and fit in place perfectly while animated characters walk around under the playing field the entire time. Effects like bolts of energy flash at you as you unleash powerups and the overall game just creates a nicely put together complete package. It’s nothing fancy, but it works very well for what the game tries to be and the audience it tries to appeal to. I think this game would even work well for children thanks to the art style.

Sure, 7 Wonders: Ancient Alien Makeover is just another of many casual games in my Steam library, but even as a hardcore gamer I can find something to enjoy here. If you’re looking for a game to play for an hour just to wind down, this is the perfect style. It doesn’t bombard you with microtransactions and there is never that grinding feeling of trying to get enough currency to hit the next level. There are definitely elements of it that come down to luck and it isn’t always a fair game, but it’s fun and that’s all that really matters.

For the boring statistics part of this game, I played for 1 hour and 24 minutes and completed the first four wonders.

Leave a comment